Poppy

IMG_03061

On a beautiful April morning one year ago, my family tragically lost our first pet. A grey (we think tabby) cat, Prince. While lots of people associate “cuddly” with “cat”, we associated “moody” and “if you touch me, i’ll kill you” with Prince. He was a large, chubby boy with this abnormally large personal bubble. He would settle himself on the floor under the narrow archway that led into the kitchen, and if you needed some water or food, you’d return to your previous activity feeling like you’d been prey to a lion.

And yet, while he was sick a few years ago, he craved human presence and lingered where we were. He slept on the end of my parents bed every night, and came running when you picked up the container holding his food and shook it. His death was sudden and out of nowhere. One day we were listening to the tinkling of his bell, and the next he was gone.

Remembering him for who he was, we took a year to heal. While I feel sad at the absence of Prince, I’m not one who believes in lingering in the sadness of a lost pet. I still mourn for the lack of him and remember him for who he was, but he’s in a better place! For a while, with the idea that all our pets will eventually leave us and all the work required for a new pet, we were unsure if we were going to get another cat. But honestly, with my family, what’s said is not always set in stone ; )

A few weeks ago, we visited a Pet Store. During this visit my brother told me he was looking for a cat. At first, he wanted to adopt an adult, but he settled on looking for a kitten. Previous to this discovery, I’d traveled with my parents to Dave’s Pets in Orilia Ontario. The shop sells kitten litters, and my mother picked up a gorgeous kitten we almost brought home (sadly, we didn’t and we regret it!). Apparently my parents had been planning on getting another kitten.

A date was set to visit the pet store again to pick out a fury friend for my brother. Over the next two weeks, I worked hard to finish up my studies, my brother went shopping for the cutie, and we eagerly awaited and counted down the days to the visit.

A call was made to the store a few days prior to our visit, and unfortunately, no kittens were available. Another litter wasn’t expected for another few weeks, but the person on the line assured that they get surprises. So the morning of the visit, while at the pet store with my brother, my dad called and discovered there was one kitten that had been brought in unexpectedly. After thinking about it, my brother asked them to reserve her for us, and we did the one hour and a half drive to pick her up.

001.jpg

This is where I introduce you to Poppy. Of course, our luck resulted in us welcoming yet another tabby into our home. My brother was contemplating names, and after listening to my persistence, and emphasis on how the name “Poppy” was perfect, he settled with it!

Poppy is the kittest kitten. She spends 90% of her time sleeping, 5% running around like a cheetah on drugs, and 5% contemplating “how can i get to this unreachable place!” Because of the last 5%, we refer to her as a raptor. I’m not referring to the basketball team, but the dinosaur. Outsmarting her is like outsmarting Einstein. After a week, she is somewhat familiar with her name, and responds quickly to “food.” Her eyes watch the door with curiosity (sorry baby girl, you can’t use the stairs until your little 9 week legs can handle the climb down), and she doesn’t peep until she needs something (however, she’s decided she has to start meowing more!).

However, Poppy is a snuggle bug. Kittens snuggle (depends on the kitten?) and Poppy is no exception. If she had to choose between sleeping on your face, and a comfy bed, your face better be ready!

unnamed

Plus, this girl is not timid. She’s as far from timid as night is from day. When we brought her home, she slowly explored the kitchen and tried to munch on the label on the new kitten bed. She loves to bite fingers, and bounds up the stairs.

However, the only area we’re still struggling with a little is Poppy and Patches. As individuals, they work well, but with Patches “I have to cry and charge at her and get in her face” attitude, Poppy is reluctant to play with him. Or was at first.

We brought Patches into the kitchen after Poppy had some time to settle. With a simple glance, she was already hissing with her back arched. We weren’t concerned (I was, but what’s new???? xD), and this continued over the next few days. But the middle of the week, there was a shift. Poppy peered from William’s arms curiously at Patches, and things went up from there. Eventually they were touching noses, playing, and sleeping near each other. Their relationship has a lot of growing to do, but progressing from hissy fits to play dates is extraordinary. I can’t wait to see what happens in the future!

But tomorrow will bring new adventures as my dad and I head back to the pet store to buy a playmate for Poppy! Little Poppy has brought joy to our lives, and will continue to do so in the future!

Welcome to the family, Poppy!

 

 

 

 

 

Categories Uncategorized

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close